26
Jun
08

Rock God? Really?

What I’m listening to right now: A Day in the Life by The Beatles

Since when did Chris Martin become a “Rock God”? Who voted on this? Why was he even on the ballot? If I had known about this, I would have walked into that room and smacked every single person in there. This flamboyant marching band attire-wearing singer has in no way, shape or form achieved what is necessary to be considered a Rock God.

But that does bring up an interesting discussion. At what point does an artist or band earn the title of Rock God? Is it massive record sales? Legendary offstage antics? An iconic sound? Jaw dropping live performances? Probably a combination of all of them, which makes the title understandably hard to attain.

So lets compare: Here’s Jimi Hendrix, and here’s Coldplay. Here’s Led Zeppelin, and here’s Coldplay. Here’s The Beatles, and… ok you get the point.

I’m sorry, but when I think of Rock Gods, I think of Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, Jim Morrison. Not Chris Martin. I think of Led Zeppelin, The Who, The Beatles. Not Coldplay.

However, this is not to say Coldplay CAN’T someday earn the title. While I’m not a huge fan, they’re pretty decent, and are already one of the biggest bands in the world right now, becoming one of the first UK bands to top the charts in the US in a decade.

So I’m not anti- Coldplay, I just think Rolling Stone is using the term a bit loosely here, and MUCH too soon…

0 Responses to “Rock God? Really?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

